Connect with us:     

Internal Medicine Residency

Many of the outstanding general internists and specialists on the Baylor University Medical Center staff are graduates of our training program.

Skip Navigation Links

Internal Medicine

Baylor University Medical Center

Internal Medicine Residency




Michael Emmett, M.D., chairman of the department of internal medicine, shares the residency program’s goals and objectives.


The Baylor University Medical Center (BUMC) Internal Medicine Residency program trains outstanding internists who generally enter the practice of general internal medicine or continue postgraduate training in an internal medicine subspecialty fellowship. Upon completion of their training, the Baylor Health Care System encourages our best residents to join the staff of the Baylor University Medical Center or the medical staff of other Baylor Health Care System facilities located throughout the DFW region. In addition, we annually train several preliminary internal medicine residents who pursue careers in ophthalmology, dermatology, neurology, radiology, anesthesiology, PM&R, or radiation oncology.


Residents and medical students stimulate and energize the entire medical staff. The intellectual challenge of the residency training program forces each member of the medical staff to carefully consider the entire spectrum of diagnostic possibilities and therapeutic options.


BUMC's commitment to education and the absence of any fixed service requirements allows the internal medicine educational faculty to focus on one goal: To create an internal medicine training program that is as close to ideal as possible—one that produces superbly trained, caring and compassionate physicians.


Our residents' workload is carefully monitored to be certain no one becomes overworked or chronically sleep-deprived. We are committed to following the letter and spirit of the ACGME's requirements and recommendations concerning work hours per week, continuous hours of duty, and days off. Our residents are never forced to admit patients beyond predefined numerical limits. Furthermore, if the workload of a resident or team becomes excessive, as defined by the supervising resident, that team discontinues further admissions until the workload is reduced to acceptable levels. BUMC has a rich academic tradition and our training program combines the very best attributes of an academic medical center, a tertiary referral hospital, and a not-for-profit community hospital.


My commitment to resident education takes precedence over all other professional demands on my time including administrative duties, research, and clinical activities. I continue to work very hard to accomplish my primary goal: To make the BUMC training program as outstanding as possible.



  Michael Emmett, M.D.

Chairman, Department of Internal Medicine






Baylor Health Care System is located in Dallas, Texas